In My Mailbox (8)

Standard
In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren as a way to share the books I’ve gotten during the week and to show appreciation to those I received them from… Who knows, maybe one of my books will be your next read!

Please leave your IMM link in your comment so I can check out your mailbox too!
Happy Reading! 🙂


I know I’ve been MIA for a little over a week now, but I was having so much fun during my birthday and I got to hang out with my sister a whole bunch!… Shopping is such an addiction! 
I hope you’ve all been well and I’ll get back into the blogging groove soon enough, but first, here’s another addition of In My Mailbox! I’m so excited for all the books I got this week since I knocked out a good amount of my wishlist items!
Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

From Barnes & Noble:


Title: The Strain
Author: Guillermo del Toro & Chuck Hogan
Genres: Horror, Vampire
This was actually a replacement copy for one that my brother had lost (grr, brothers!). I was so happy to find it in the bargain section at Barnes & Noble for $6 and coincidentally the 3rd in this trilogy, The Night Eternal, is coming out soon!

Title: Enthralled: Paranormal Diversions

Author: Melissa Marr, Kelley Armstrong, Rachel Caine, Claudia Gray, Rachel Vincent, Carrie Ryan, Sarah Rees Brennan, Jeri Smith-Ready, Kami Garcia, Mary E. Pearson, Jennifer Lynn Barnes, Jessica Verday, Jackson Pearce, Margaret Stohl, Kimberly Derting and Ally Condie
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Short Stories
Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

I love short stories and I’ve actually never read one that was paranormal based, so I’m excited to start this! I don’t know many of the authors, but I’ve heard a lot of great things about this one and seeing as though I’ve been procrastinating with reading, short stories will be perfect!

From Strand Bookstore:

Title: The Name of the Star

Author: Maureen Johnson
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery
Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

Hm… okay this was actually a book I got last week but forgot to add it to my IMM. I went through a Jack the Ripper faze when I was younger so I loved the concept of this! Oh and the cover is so nice! It has an opal effect to it which is so unique!

Title: Dearly, Departed
Author: Lia Habel
Genres: Young Adult, Steampunk, Zombies
Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

Okay, I swear my books this week are not all dark! I think I first heard about this when a lot of you were getting this as ARCs and I loved the cover! I’ve also never read a steampunk novel, but I’ve always loved the style/look of it all. If you’ve got some must-read steampunk, let me know!

Title: The Faerie Ring
Author: Kiki Hamilton
Genres: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Faeries
Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

I don’t know why I’ve been holding off on this one, but it was near Dearly, Departed and I was already picking up a lot that I just thought “what the heck.”

I like the historical aspects of it which, in my opinion, usually makes the story all the more fun and intriguing.

Title: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

Author: David Levithan and Rachel Cohn
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

Squee! I love the concept of this and I don’t know what took me so damn long to get it! And how fitting that the story begins at Strand (where I bought this)!

I probably won’t start this until December so it coincides with the story, but I can’t wait to start it!

Title: The Blackhope Enigma

Author: Theresa Flavin
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

Honestly, I was drawn to the cover and upon skimming through the mostly positive reviews of this little-known book, I was intrigued and I was so happy to find it at Strand!

Title: The Watch That Ends the Night: Voices from the Titanic

Author: Allan Wolf
Genres: Young Adult, Historical Fiction
Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

I first saw this at BN, but for $22 I declined since I knew nothing about it other than the concept of it being a collective narrative of 24 characters while on the Titanic. Luckily, Strand is awesome with it’s half off prices!

So after reading up on it, I was so fascinated by this and it’s multiple formats- letters, verse, undertaker’s notes and so on. An appropriate take on the matter and with the 100th anniversary of its fateful journey coming up, I’m sure it’ll become a bigger hit as the time draws near.

What’s in your mailbox?

20 responses »

  1. 1st of all, glad you had a great birthday! 2nd, nice IMM! 3rd, wtf is up with The Strain getting lost or stolen? I've had 2 copies go missing over the years, until I downloaded it for $1.99 from Amazon a week or so ago. I am determined to read it, dang it. 🙂

  2. Happy birthday!I'm really excited to start reading Enthralled (I love Kelley Armstrong and Jackson Pearce). And Dash & Lily is completely wonderful!

  3. Happy Birthday. 😀 And great IMM this week, I also got a copy of The Name of the Star this week, I wish I could of found Dearly, Departed. Been hearing so much about it, it sounds really good.Here is my IMM for this week: IMM(4)

  4. Looks like you have a lot of great books this week!I really want to read The Name of the Star – I love Jack the Ripper stories.Dearly Departed also looks very good. I've heard mixed things about The Faerie Ring. I'll be interested to see what you think about all these books :)Here's my IMM: The Book Bundle~Ailsa

  5. Oh WOW I hadn't heard of that Titanic book before! It sounds so interesting!! I'm intrigued. Adding it to my list. :)I can't WAIT to read The Name of the Star.. it sounds so good.. and can't wait to read Dearly, Departed.. same with you – haven't read a Steampunk novel before. (hmm wonder what constitutes it to be "steampunk"…)Michele | My IMM

Leave a Reply

