Review: Eve by Anna Carey

Standard

From Goodreads:

The year is 2032, sixteen years after a deadly virus—and the vaccine intended to protect against it—wiped out most of the earth’s population. The night before eighteen-year-old Eve’s graduation from her all-girls school she discovers what really happens to new graduates, and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Fleeing the only home she’s ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive. Along the way she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Separated from men her whole life, Eve has been taught to fear them, but Caleb slowly wins her trust…and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.

This must be one of the earliest-set dystopian stories out there which made this world really hard to believe. Maybe it’s just me, but I need some kind of realness in the books I read to keep me engaged. Given the world we know now, it’s unlikely that in 20 years the whole world would agree to separate men and women, do away with love and enslave young girls to do nothing more than produce offsprings.

Yes I’m sure somewhere along the way there will be an uprising from the people and they’ll stop at nothing to take down the system, but for me, this first installment was nothing more than your bright girl who thought she knew everything only to find out the truth and then fall in love with the boy who she was supposed to fear. Also, it irks me when the description says “true love”. Eve has never been near a boy in her life and the very first one to show her kindness is her true love. Seriously?

I seem to have a lot of hate for this book, which isn’t entirely true! I like the chase sequences, the minor characters and even Eve and Caleb when they’re not being so blatantly obvious. I am curious to read what happens next and though Anna Carey has created a generic story, she does possess the ability to give the story life and characters you want to root for.

Rating: ★★★☆☆ 3/5 stars

2 responses »

    • I think I expressed a lot more dislike for this book than I intended. While reading it I DID enjoy it, but it was when I was writing the review that I realized all the things that I didn’t like!!

Leave a Reply

